City of Toronto recognizes the 2018 Affordable Housing Champions

Today, I was proud to recognize, with Mayor John Tory, 18 housing organizations as Toronto's 2018 Affordable Housing Champions. The awards were presented at the City's Affordable Housing Committee meeting to non-profit and private sector organizations with rental and ownership affordable housing developments currently under construction.

I want to thank our non-profit and private sector partners for their dedication to building quality, affordable housing in Toronto. It is only through these strong and ongoing partnerships that the City can succeed in providing new affordable rental and ownership housing for Torontonians.

"We are committed to building more affordable housing at a faster pace," said Mayor Tory. "The Open Door Affordable Housing Program was designed to facilitate the construction of affordable housing to help people find safe, decent and affordable homes. I am thrilled that private and non-profit housing organizations have stepped up to build new affordable housing in our city."

The organizations awarded today are delivering 1,094 affordable homes in 20 developments in 12 wards across the city. These homes will be ready for occupancy starting in 2018 through to 2020.

The following 18 organizations were recognized at the Affordable Housing Committee meeting today:

  • Artscape
  • CollecDev
  • Daniels Corporation
  • Egale Canada Human Rights Trust
  • Habitat for Humanity GTA
  • Hines Interests Limited Partnership
  • Humewood House
  • Madison View Homes Inc.
  • Malibu Investments
  • Native Men's Residence
  • Options for Homes
  • Rockport Group
  • St. Clare's Multifaith Housing Society
  • Toronto Community Housing Corporation
  • Tridel
  • Trillium Housing
  • Westbank Corporation
  • WoodGreen Community Services Corporation

More information about the Open Door Affordable Housing Program is available at

Do you like this post?


  • Sarah Marie
  • Sandi Guignard
  • Ajay Ghosh
  • Sasha Kraus
  • Philip Kocev
  • Jenny Chen
  • Lily Mackenzie
  • Bill McBain
  • Alex Mather
  • Dragan Djordjevic

Sarah Marie just joined.

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or email.